Biological Classification–THE FIVE KINGDOMS

The Biological world with incredible diversity has prompted man to try to classify them according to similarity or dissimilarity in characters.IT can be traced back to ages of Aristotle and Plato. However ,in later centuries, Carolus Linnaeus founded the 2 KINGDOM HIERARCHICAL CLASSIFICATION, followed by Robert Whittaker in 1968 ,who pointed the 5 KINGDOM CLASSIFICATION. HOWEVER, this was modified to 6 kingdom classification in later years with 3 domains and the following kingdoms– Archaebacteria,Eubacteria, Protista, Fungi, Plantae, Animalia
Video courtesy: BillNyeRutz


One thought on “Biological Classification–THE FIVE KINGDOMS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s